Alexander to be Inducted to College HOF Tuesday

Charles Alexander with LSU Heisman Trophy winner Billy Cannon
Charles Alexander with LSU Heisman Trophy winner Billy Cannon (@LSUsports) (@LSUsports)
LSU Sports Interactive

BATON ROUGE - Charles Alexander, a two-time All-American and Heisman Trophy finalist at LSU, will be formally inducted into the College Hall of Fame on Tuesday night in New York City.

The National Football Foundation (NFF) will digitally broadcast two main events live during the 55th NFF Annual Awards Dinner, which takes place Dec. 4 at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City.

The live stream can be viewed on the NFF site,

Alexander will become only the eighth player in LSU history to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, and he will be one of just four living LSU members, joining Billy Cannon, Tommy Casanova and Jerry Stovall.

One of the greatest running backs in the history of the Southeastern Conference, Alexander etched his name in college football history during a four-year career at LSU from 1975-78. Known to LSU fans as "Alexander the Great," he earned All-America honors in 1977 and 1978 while finishing ninth in the Heisman Trophy race as a junior and fifth in the balloting his senior season.

Viewers can watch the morning press conference, starting at 8 a.m. CT., and at 7 p.m. CT, they can view the entire ceremony, which includes the induction of the College Football Hall of Fame Class, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards presented by Fidelity Investments, the announcement of the winner of the 23rd William V. Campbell Trophy, endowed by HealthSouth, and the bestowing of the NFF Major Awards. See below for a detailed timeline of events.

Additionally, the events can be found live on the Official NFF mobile and tablet applications. The apps can be downloaded by searching "National Football Foundation" in the iTunes App Store or Android Market.

55th NFF Annual Awards Dinner Timeline:
(All Times Eastern and Approximate)
8:00 p.m. - Welcome by ESPN studio host and NFF Dinner Emcee Rece Davis
8:02 p.m. - Presentation of the Legacy Awards to Eric Long, Burke Magnus and Craig Silver
8:05 p.m. - Introduction of the college coaches in attendance
8:10 p.m. - Chris Schenkel Award presented posthumously to the late Bob Barry, Sr.
8:14 p.m. - John L. Toner Award presented to Mal Moore
8:27 p.m. - The NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments
8:58 p.m. - The 23rd William V. Campbell Trophy, endowed by HealthSouth
9:05 p.m. - The Distinguished American Award presented to George Bodenheimer
9:09 p.m. - The NFF Gold Medal presented to Roscoe C. Brown, Jr.
9:15 p.m. - The 2012 College Football Hall of Fame Class
9:50 p.m. - Hall of Fame Ring Ceremony
9:55 p.m. - Closing Remarks and God Bless America

NFF Annual Awards Press Conference Timeline:
(All Times Eastern)
9:00 a.m. - NFF Major Award Winners
9:30 a.m. - Hall of Fame Class
10: 20 a.m. - Break for one-on-one interviews
10:40 a.m. - Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Finalists Announcement
10:50 a.m. - NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, presented by Fidelity Investments
11:15 a.m. - Break for one-on-one interviews

Nationally acclaimed ESPN studio host Rece Davis will emcee the dinner ceremony while longtime Texas sports information director Bill Little will moderate the morning press conference. The honorees include:

The 2012 College Football Hall of Famers: Charles Alexander of LSU, Otis Armstrong of Purdue, Steve Bartkowski of California, Hal Bedsole of Southern California, Dave Casper of Notre Dame, Ty Detmer of BYU, Tommy Kramer of Rice, Art Monk of Syracuse, Greg Myers of Colorado State, Jonathan Ogden of UCLA, Gabe Rivera of Texas Tech, Mark Simoneau of Kansas State, Scott Thomas of Air Force, John Wooten of Colorado and coaches Phillip Fulmer of Tennessee, Jimmy Johnson of Oklahoma State, Miami Fla., and R.C. Slocum of Texas A&M.

About the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame:
Founded in 1947 with early leadership from General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl "Red" Blaik and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. With 120 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, NFF programs include the College Football Hall of Fame, the NFF Scholar-Athlete Award presented by Fidelity Investments, Play It Smart, the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Alumni Association, and scholarships of more than $1.3 million for college and high school scholar-athletes. The NFF presents the MacArthur Bowl, the William V. Campbell Trophy endowed by HealthSouth, and releases the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) Standings. NFF corporate partners include the Allstate Sugar Bowl, the BCS, Fidelity Investments, Herff Jones, Liberty Mutual Insurance, NCAA Football, and Under Armour. For more information, please visit





This Week in LSU Athletics - May 22-27
May. 22
Cannon on Goal-Line Stand vs. Ole Miss
May. 21
'The Tribute' - Celebrating LSU Athletics Graduates
May. 11