Volleyball's Jones Secures All-SEC Second-Team Honor

LSU's Madie Jones
LSU's Madie Jones
Steve Franz
Matt Dunaway
Matt Dunaway

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - Madie Jones picked up All-SEC Second Team accolades Monday as announced by the league office. It marks the second straight season that Jones was an All-SEC Second Team performer.

"Madie carried a huge load for our offense all season, and she is certainly deserving of being included on the All-SEC Second Team," head coach Fran Flory said. "She has been an outstanding student-athlete in all aspects of our program for the past four years and has enhanced the tradition of our program."

Jones belted a team-leading 389 kills and her 3.64 per set average was eighth in the SEC. She reached double figure kills 21 times and ripped 10-plus kills during all 12 of LSU's wins during the 2012 season.

During SEC action, Jones raised her mark to 3.84 kills per set which was good enough for sixth place on the conference leaderboard. She cranked a career-best 26 kills versus Georgia along with 25-spike efforts against Alabama and Ole Miss, which were SEC season-bests for a four-set conference match.

Jones finished her career with 1,110 kills, tied for 15th place with former All-American Brittnee Cooper on the program's all-time list.

LSU's seven-year run atop the SEC Western Division came to a close during the 2012 season. The streak was the second-longest in SEC history only behind Florida's 14-year atop the SEC Eastern Division from 1995-2008. The Tigers are scheduled to return 10 letterwinners in 2013.

For all of the latest news and information on Tiger volleyball, visit www.lsusports.net/volleyball. Fans can also follow the program on its social media outlets at www.Facebook.com/lsuvolleyball along with @lsuvolleyball and @lsucoachfran on Twitter.

2012 SEC Volleyball Awards
Player of the Year: Chloe Mann, Florida
Libero of the Year: Stephanie Klefot, Kentucky
Freshman of the Year: Živa Recek, Florida
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Amanda Anderson, Arkansas
Coach of the Year: Mary Wise, Florida

All-SEC First Team
Roslandy Acosta, Arkansas
Whitney Billings, Kentucky
Taylor Brauneis, Florida
Lisa Henning, Missouri
Alisia Kastmo, Texas A&M
Chloe Mann, Florida
Lindsey Miller, Texas A&M
Živa Recek, Florida
Kelsey Robinson, Tennessee
Tangerine Wiggs, Florida

All-SEC Second Team
Tiffany Baker, Tennessee
Sarah Bullock, Auburn
Kayla Fitterer, Alabama
Jasmine Norton, Arkansas
Camila Jersonsky, Auburn
Madie Jones, LSU
Stephanie Klefot, Kentucky
Molly Kreklow, Missouri
Whitney Little, Missouri
Allie Sawatzky, Texas A&M
Betsy Smith, Florida
Juliette Thévenin, South Carolina

All-SEC Freshmen Team
Nakeyta Clair, Ole Miss
Jasmine Eatmon, Georgia
Liz Fortado, Arkansas
Ty Laporte, Ole Miss
Roxanne McVey, Mississippi State
Živa Recek, Florida
Sara Schwarzwalder, Kentucky





'The Tribute' - Celebrating LSU Athletics Graduates
May. 11
Nissan #LSUTopPlays - Nov. 29 - Dec. 1
Dec. 4
Volleyball vs. San Diego - Post-Match Recap
Dec. 2