Green Bay Packers QB Matt Flynn was introduced at Tiger Stadium during a 2010 game.
Photo by:Tim Little, LSU Athletics Student Photographer
LSU's Super Bowl Streak Reaches 10 Years
Text smallerText larger
Published: February 04, 2011, 01:30 PM (CT)
by Michael Bonnette (@LSUBonnette), Sr. Assoc. Athletic Director/SID

BATON ROUGE - Four former LSU football players will be after a Super Bowl ring on Sunday when the Green Bay Packers face the Pittsburgh Steelers at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas, in Super Bowl XLV.

The Green Bay roster features three former Tigers in backup quarterback Matt Flynn, fullback Quinn Johnson and defensive tackle Howard Green. Starting safety Ryan Clark is the lone Tiger on the Steelers roster.

It marks the 10th straight year in which LSU has had a former football player reach the Super Bowl, which ties with Georgia as the longest current streak in the Southeastern Conference. The 10-yeark streak ranks as the third-longest in SEC history, trailing only Tennessee (17 years: 1993-2008) and Alabama (12 years: 1983-94).

LSU's also had at least one former player be part of a Super Bowl championship team for nine straight years. That streak will run to 10 this year with former Tigers serving on the roster for both teams this Sunday. Last year, LSU had three of its former players win the Super Bowl with the New Orleans Saints - Devery Henderson, Randall Gay and Marlon Favorite.

Click here for a look at LSU's all-time Super Bowl participants as well as the 23 former Tigers who have claimed a Super Bowl ring.

LA Dental
Flores MBA Program
Visit Baton Rouge
ICA LSU Digital Magazine

Spring 2015 Key Days:
- Feb. 4: National Signing Day | History
- Feb. 17-23: NFL Combine
- March 7 - April 18: Spring Practice
- March 19-20: Coaches' Clinic 
- March 27: LSU Pro Day | Look Back
- April 16: Student Appreciation Day | Look Back
- April 18: Spring Game | Look Back
- April 30 - May 2: NFL Draft | History
'15 Recruiting Questionnaire
News | Archives
Rosters (Past and Present)
Coaching Staff
Game Notes
Statistics (1965 - Present)
SEC Standings
AP | CoachesCFP | Harris
Archives: AP | Coaches | CFP/BCS Baseball Season