Chancellor, Fowles Receive SEC's Top Annual Honors

LSU Women's Basketball
LSU Women's Basketball (@LSUsports) (@LSUsports)
LSU Sports Interactive

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- More history was made by the LSU women’s basketball team on Tuesday when Sylvia Fowles and Van Chancellor received the Southeastern Conference’s top honors.

Fowles was named the Player of the Year and Chancellor was tabbed as the Coach of the Year, marking the fifth time in SEC history the Player and Coach of the Year came from the same school. 

Fowles, a senior center for the Lady Tigers, was also named the Defensive Player of the Year and earned unanimous first-team All-SEC honors.

Quianna Chaney joined Fowles on the first-team, while Erica White was a second-team All-SEC selection and sophomore Allison Hightower received the Sixth-Woman of the Year award.

The honors, released by the league office on Tuesday, were voted on by the 12 SEC coaches.

“It is nice for this program to receive all of these honors,” Chancellor said. “These players worked so hard all season to accomplish the goal of becoming SEC Champions and theses honors reflect the hard work.”

Fowles is just the second LSU player to receive the SEC’s Player of the Year honor, joining Seimone Augustus who earned the honor in 2005 and 2006. Fowles led LSU to the program’s third SEC regular season title with 17.3 points and 9.8 rebounds per game. The Miami, Fla., native also shot 60.6 percent from the floor and collected 16 double doubles, including 10 in league play.

“This means a lot to me,” Fowles said. “For the coaches to select me as the SEC’s top player is a great honor, but I share this award with my teammates and my coaches. Without them I would not be able to accomplish what I have on the court.”

Fowles was also named the Defensive Player of the Year, the first such honor for an LSU player. She blocked 46 shots, collected 43 steals and pulled down 196 defensive rebounds during the season.

Chancellor, in his first season as the head coach of the Lady Tigers, guided LSU to a perfect 14-0 league mark. He is the third coach of LSU to earn the honor, joining Sue Gunter (1997, 1999) and Pokey Chatman (2005).

The honor is the fourth for Chancellor who spent 19 seasons as the head coach at Ole Miss and received the award in 1987, 1990 and 1992.

“This is just a great honor,” Chancellor said. “But, I can’t take all the credit. My assistant coaches and these players deserve the credit. They make the head coach look good.”

Hightower, who tied for the Sixth-Woman of the Year with Vanderbilt’s Jessica Mooney, averaged 7.7 points and 2.4 rebounds per game overall and 7.4 points in SEC games. Her point total was third on the team behind Fowles and Chaney.

Chaney, who averaged 14.9 points per game, received her first first-team All-SEC honor. The senior from Baton Rouge was named second-team all-conference last season.

Fowles pulled down her third first-team All-SEC to become the sixth player in school history to be a three-time all-conference selection. She joins Joyce Walker, Pokey Chatman, Cornelia Gayden, Katrina Hibbert and Seimone Augustus.

White, who averaged 7.1 points and 4.3 assists per game overall and 9.1 points and 4.4 assists per conference game, earned her first SEC post season honor. The Jacksonville, Fla., native also led the league with a 2.46 assist-to-turnover ratio.

Last season Tennessee’s Pat Summitt and Candace Parker swept the honor last season, LSU’s Chatman and Augustus each won in 2005, Georgia’s Andy Landers and Saudia Roundtree each won in 1996 and Summitt and Nikki McCray won in 1995.

Coach of the Year - Van Chancellor, LSU
Player of the Year - Sylvia Fowles, LSU
Freshman of the Year - Angie Bjorklund, UT
Defensive Player of the Year - Sylvia Fowles, LSU
Sixth Women of the Year - Jessica Mooney, VU & Allison Hightower
Scholar-athlete of the Year - Chelsea Chowning, UK

First team All-SEC: Sylvia Fowles - LSU*, Candance Parker - UT*, Tasha Humphrey - UG, Christina  Wirth - VU, Dewanna Bonner - AU, Quianna Chaney - LSU, Alexis Hornbuckle - UT, Marshae Dotson - UF

Second team All-SEC: Samantha Mahoney - UK, Shannon Bobbit - UT, Sarah Elliott - UK, Shawn Goff - UM, Ashley Houts - UG, Jennifer Risper VU, Erica White - LSU, Demetress Adams - USC.

All-Defensive team: Alexis Hornbuckle UT, Sylvia Fowles - LSU*, Brittney Vaughn Ark., Jennifer Risper - VU, Demetress Adams - USC

All-Freshman team: Vicki Dunlap - UK*, Angela Puleo - UG, Amber Smith - UK, Angie Bjorklund - UT*, Alli Smalley - AU, Jenice Rhoads - VU, Mary Kathryn Govero - MSU, Hannah Tuomi, VU




Women's Basketball
LSU Top Plays - March 4-10
Mar. 11
Women's Basketball
Highlights - LSU vs. Tennessee WBB SEC
Mar. 7
Women's Basketball
Women's Basketball vs. Tennessee - Audio Replay
Mar. 7